Page 3 of 4
Re: Display program name in a fader or monitor
Posted: 16 Jan 2012 12:46
by st8_livecontrol
areyes1038 wrote:Hey jojokrok,
2. A bank of switches with labels was my next option, but it crashes the editor
im labelling 12*8 pads with multilabels no problem. can we see your code thats causing the crash?
see below for a working example
from a quick test it looks like the maximum array size for strings is about 756 bytes (I can display upto 63 pads containing 12 characters each)
EDIT: in fact this is quite confusing, i can display 63 * 15 chars (945bytes), but only 51* 16 chars (816 bytes)
Re: Display program name in a fader or monitor
Posted: 16 Jan 2012 14:54
by kraftf
Macciza wrote:Hi
Congrats on your solution rather than letting these things limit you - good effort . . .
Yes these were/are the limits to the hardware Lemur - 512k per project . .
Probably not noticed/got overlooked during the updated to a Liine product . . .
But I believe they are working on these various issues (filesize/arrays) for an update, due soonish . . .
I think there is a way around the 512k limit but it involves text-editing the jzml, but not as simple as a cut and paste . . .
You would need to paste stuff in the right spot and edit id numbers for objects etc etc - may end up a bit messy and only half work like it did for me . . .. . .
I'm just going to wait until after the first update or two - which should hopefully solve many of these 'teething' issues -
And I am hoping to see some completely new features before too long as well . . .
Cheers
MM
Thanks for the credit!
Noway I would like to mess with the jzml file. Got already enough headaches and quite some time away from the ultimate goal which is music. I'll hold back and wait for the updates.
However I was really disappointed to find out about the 512k limit. Was working too hard to get my templates done. Have to make a break for now.
Re: Display program name in a fader or monitor
Posted: 16 Jan 2012 23:22
by Macciza
Hi
st8 - max Array size seems to vary depending on where and how it is instantiated . . .?
As a created 'expression' it seems quite limited - max of 20'ish 8 char strings . . .
But in a script it seems that larger arrays can be written - max of 60'ish
But using the externally defined expression and joining them in a script ie {{GM1},{GM2}, etc allows me to make a 127 * 8 char array . . .
It seems that different limits apply in different places??
Expression limit - thought that this was tied to array size limit, but perhaps not . . .
Typed-in scripting limit -Larger than expression so perhaps not array size limit - is this perhaps line length limit? ' \ ' does not seem to work as line continuation . . .
'Assembled' array from ext. arrays - Limit? not sure but at least double the line length limit . . .
Somewhat confusing I must say - or am I overlooking/ignoring something? drawing wrong conclusions?
Hopefully thes figures will align better without these limits soon . . .
@Kraft - Try joining you ext arrays in your script
Code: Select all
a={{GM},{GM2},{GM3},{GM4},{GM5},{GM6},{GM7}};
setexpression(Monitor, 'value',a[x*127]);
Hope that helps
MM
Re: Display program name in a fader or monitor
Posted: 17 Jan 2012 00:54
by protocol
Hi All,
Its been a few days since I looked the post and seems like ppl have had some interesting solutions. I had an epiphany while working on a set today to a solution, so I thought I'd post my solution to the above said question, using a container that contains 134 text items that you can change, and the fader offsets the container, to allow you to move it around to the relevant text item. - feel free to change it up as you want, i just threw it together to show the idea.
It is kinda heavy on memory (due to the number of text items) - i'm up to 12% for just this item, so i dont know if its all that worth it especially if you already have a memory hungry patch, however its worth posting cause i think it shows some cool possibilities for ppl if they dont know the concept of moving a container around within a container, and maybe someone wants to use it.
Hope this helps someone,
Protocol
Re: Display program name in a fader or monitor
Posted: 17 Jan 2012 01:29
by Macciza
Hi
Interesting approach - Not sure that the multiple text objects is the best approach - particularly now that I think larger arrays are possible . . .
I also find the 'off/on' colors too similar to be able to quickly tell which one is selected . . .
Also, are you using the Jazz Editor to a Lemur, or Lemur Editor to an iPad? 12% in JazzEditor not a problem - project is only 2% in Lemur editor . . .
The move-and-size project in the library also shows some interesting ways of manipulating objects on screen . .
Cheers
MM
Re: Display program name in a fader or monitor
Posted: 17 Jan 2012 01:56
by protocol
@Macciza
Also, are you using the Jazz Editor to a Lemur, or Lemur Editor to an iPad? 12% in JazzEditor not a problem - project is only 2% in Lemur editor . . .
Ya i was using JazzEditor. Interesting that LemurEditor use 2% while JazzEditor is 12%...
If larger arrays are possible then I totally agree that is the way to go. I will have to up my knowledge on arrays now
(always something to learn on this machine!)
Thanks,
protocol
Re: Display program name in a fader or monitor
Posted: 17 Jan 2012 03:40
by kraftf
Macciza wrote:Hi
@Kraft - Try joining you ext arrays in your script
Code: Select all
a={{GM},{GM2},{GM3},{GM4},{GM5},{GM6},{GM7}};
setexpression(Monitor, 'value',a[x*127]);
Hope that helps
MM
I was trying to use the interlace function and everything got messed up in the new array.
I'll try the direct joint and see what happens.
Thanks.
Re: Display program name in a fader or monitor
Posted: 17 Jan 2012 03:52
by kraftf
kraftf wrote:Macciza wrote:Hi
@Kraft - Try joining you ext arrays in your script
Code: Select all
a={{GM},{GM2},{GM3},{GM4},{GM5},{GM6},{GM7}};
setexpression(Monitor, 'value',a[x*127]);
Hope that helps
MM
I was trying to use the interlace function and everything got messed up in the new array.
I'll try the direct joint and see what happens.
Thanks.
Yeap it works!!
Thanks so much Mazzica. I got rid of all those if clauses!
Lets see now if the Number of the expressions I am going to set is going to overflow.
Re: Display program name in a fader or monitor
Posted: 18 Jan 2012 10:39
by axel_liine
Hi all,
There's a hard limit of 64 elements typed in lists in the script engine (i.e {a,b,c...}) at the moment. This will be raised in an upcoming update.
Also, the file size limit of 512kB per template will be raised.
Cheers,
Axel
Re: Display program name in a fader or monitor
Posted: 18 Jan 2012 10:49
by Macciza
Hi Axel
Thanks for that - Are you able to offer any insight into the different sizes that I was able to come up with mention in the post from 17th starting with - st8 - max Array size etc . . .
I was able to generate seemingly large arrays (127 names) by concatenation of arrays into an array - bit confused by the results I came up with - see post for details
Thanks - Looking forward to the update . . .
MM