switches...
-
- Regular
- Posts: 143
- Joined: 21 Mar 2015 02:26
switches...
how can i use a switch to change the cc output of a button ? not a pad,then can i use multiple switches for a button to have different functions? and please provide examples,cause progamming scripts i am new to
Re: switches...
I'm in a rush, so I can't post an example, also I don't use MIDI too much so there could be a better way perhaps?
But
2 ways off the top of my head: You create a 'custom MIDI' (bottom right corner) and then the MIDI mappings for it (top left) have an option to put open variables (expressions) for the values. So, you could do this many different ways. One way would be to make an array (create an expression and then make a list for it's values like this: {20,21,22,44,33} )
Inside that array (list) put all your desired cc values. Then you need to relate the switches current value to get the desired array value. For this you use firstof(x). SOO you could either do this in a script, or as a variable, or in a long-winded variable directly on the MIDI mapping.
Then for the 'controller' argument in the MIDI mapping section (which is the cc #) you would put that variable
EXAMPLE
create 2 expressions: values and valu (values will have the list of desired cc # and valu will be the one it is
values = {22,23,50,52}
valu = values[firstof(Switches.x)]
Then in the custom MIDI expression, you would type 'valu' where it says 'controller' (make sure it's a B0 control change)
There are many ways you could do this one example. You can also accomplish this with using scripting using midiout()
also, if you use the first method, if all your cc #'s are consecutive, you can just add the firstof(Switches.x) value to another value
For example, you start at cc # 50 and want to go to 55
have the controller value equal this: 50 + firstof(Switches.x)
Anyway, hope that works, if not let me know, maybe someone will suggest a better way (it also really depends on what you want)
But
2 ways off the top of my head: You create a 'custom MIDI' (bottom right corner) and then the MIDI mappings for it (top left) have an option to put open variables (expressions) for the values. So, you could do this many different ways. One way would be to make an array (create an expression and then make a list for it's values like this: {20,21,22,44,33} )
Inside that array (list) put all your desired cc values. Then you need to relate the switches current value to get the desired array value. For this you use firstof(x). SOO you could either do this in a script, or as a variable, or in a long-winded variable directly on the MIDI mapping.
Then for the 'controller' argument in the MIDI mapping section (which is the cc #) you would put that variable
EXAMPLE
create 2 expressions: values and valu (values will have the list of desired cc # and valu will be the one it is
values = {22,23,50,52}
valu = values[firstof(Switches.x)]
Then in the custom MIDI expression, you would type 'valu' where it says 'controller' (make sure it's a B0 control change)
There are many ways you could do this one example. You can also accomplish this with using scripting using midiout()
also, if you use the first method, if all your cc #'s are consecutive, you can just add the firstof(Switches.x) value to another value
For example, you start at cc # 50 and want to go to 55
have the controller value equal this: 50 + firstof(Switches.x)
Anyway, hope that works, if not let me know, maybe someone will suggest a better way (it also really depends on what you want)
Re: switches...
here is an example (changing the knob.x's cc output)
ps--will delete after you download
let me know if you need more help (or if it doesn't work cuz I didn't test it..)
ps--will delete after you download
let me know if you need more help (or if it doesn't work cuz I didn't test it..)
- Attachments
-
- CCSwitch.jzlib
- (4.4 KiB) Downloaded 74 times
-
- Regular
- Posts: 143
- Joined: 21 Mar 2015 02:26
Re: switches...
ill tell u want i need to happen ,in transport i have ff and rewind,now i can surround each button with 4 switches thus eliminating 8 buttons,cause i can have rewind do nudge ,bar fast rewind and -1frame down, so 4 buttons will make pad do 4 functions
-
- Regular
- Posts: 143
- Joined: 21 Mar 2015 02:26
Re: switches...
and with all switches off rewind and ff,not sure how to do this ,but will try ur idea,scripting is not an option for me ,i have no idea aboutthe syntax
Re: switches...
?? I'm having trouble understanding. you want 4 buttons to act as 8 controllers with a switch that changes through them?
Do you want to post what you are doing, or maybe clarify.
Maybe there is a simpler/different solution then having to change the cc with a switch.
Unless you got it, then that's good.
Do you want to post what you are doing, or maybe clarify.
Maybe there is a simpler/different solution then having to change the cc with a switch.
Unless you got it, then that's good.
Re: switches...
So if I understand correctly, you don't want 8 pads for all ff/rw things but 2 pads with each 4 switches?
Doesn't that make the total number of switches 10, which is even more than before?
Doesn't that make the total number of switches 10, which is even more than before?
"Having no silence in music is like having no black or white in a painting" - Brian Eno
https://soundcloud.com/mrcorba
https://soundcloud.com/mrcorba
-
- Regular
- Posts: 143
- Joined: 21 Mar 2015 02:26
Re: switches...
No cause the pad is in the transport at the bottom and u can make a switch small and surround a pad on left ,right ,top,and bottom,I'll send u a screen shot...it will free up 8 pads
-
- Regular
- Posts: 143
- Joined: 21 Mar 2015 02:26
Re: switches...
ill tell u want i need to happen ,in transport i have ff and rewind,now i can surround each button with 4 switches thus eliminating 8 buttons,cause i can have rewind do nudge ,bar fast rewind and -1frame down, so 4 buttons will make pad do 4 functions
Re: switches...
here is a Pads object, that sends to CC 21,22,23,24 (customize by editing the AllCCs expression) - selectable via a Switches object (4 switches).
Each time a switch is selected, not only the Pad sends to the preassigned CC but also reflects its function via a label.
Each time a switch is selected, not only the Pad sends to the preassigned CC but also reflects its function via a label.
- Attachments
-
- Pad-with4switchableCCout.jzml
- (4.7 KiB) Downloaded 72 times