Page 1 of 1
Scripting 'Bring to front'?
Posted: 01 Dec 2013 13:17
by oldgearguy
Is there any way to programmatically manipulate the stack of objects? I'm specifically looking for a way to bring an object to the top of the stack from inside a script.
I believe I can accomplish what I want to do another way (maybe), but it would be cleaner if I could simply use 'bring to front'.
thanks
Re: Scripting 'Bring to front'?
Posted: 01 Dec 2013 14:34
by Phil999
I think it's not possible. In the object's attribute list there is no such thing.
Re: Scripting 'Bring to front'?
Posted: 01 Dec 2013 23:57
by Macciza
Hi
Depends on what you mean here . . . Having one object visible or actually overlaying bits of objects . . .
Check out the builtin show() function for managing object visibility . . .
Also check Containers with Tabs but TabBar not shown - manipulate the Tabs for varying effects . .
Cheers
Re: Scripting 'Bring to front'?
Posted: 02 Dec 2013 12:00
by oldgearguy
Macciza wrote:Hi
Depends on what you mean here . . . Having one object visible or actually overlaying bits of objects . . .
Check out the builtin show() function for managing object visibility . . .
Also check Containers with Tabs but TabBar not shown - manipulate the Tabs for varying effects . .
Cheers
I tried the show() function, but it leaves the object 'in place' in the display stack.
I'm working on an FM (DX7/TX802/etc) template. I have each operator in a small container on screen and am using a Breakpoint object behind them to "draw" the algorithm. For editing ease, I want to be able to make an operator container bigger and on top of everything else (to make editing the envelope and such easier) and once you're done, it make it small again. This works fine as long as I do a 'bring to front' in the editor on a container. However, the other containers display behind each other, and you can only see part of the targeted container.
Driving around this weekend, I thought up an alternate approach, but it requires a lot more behind the scenes data manipulation since the objects send MIDI sysex changes to the synth and the messages need to be specific for each operator.
Re: Scripting 'Bring to front'?
Posted: 17 Dec 2013 15:30
by oldgearguy
Just to close this out for now.
Based on what I've observed, the order of objects in the stack is directly related to their order in the .jzml file. So, if you have 3 objects in a container (Ob1, Ob2, Ob3) and they are listed in the .jzml file as Ob1, Ob2, Ob3 then OB1 will be at the bottom and Ob3 will be at the top. This is marginally useful if you have a bunch of objects to 'Send to Back'. Rather than clicking on each one and choosing Send to Back, you can edit the .jzml and do a block cut/paste to move them around (for those that tend to edit the jzml directly).