Page 1 of 1

Problem with Custom Button

Posted: 11 Mar 2013 19:00
by agentsmith23
hi,

i´d like to create a simple daw-control but i have some problems with the custom button and ableton.

i want to control the solo-button in ableton with a custombutton(switch) but i just works properly with a custombutton(pad).
the solo button in ableton reqiueres the signal like a pad(x=1 and x=0). with the switch i have to tap it twice.
i can use the custombutton(pad) but when solo is on, i would like to have an optical feedback on my custombutton(pad), so its still red(in my case).

i hope you know what i mean^^

thx

Re: Problem with Custom Button

Posted: 11 Mar 2013 23:56
by Softcore
I totally understand your problem because I have faced it myself...There are a couple of solutions but I want to make sure first which one is the best before posting a specific example.....

In the meanwhile sesrch in the modules section and in the post of AB -
somewhere in there I haveposted the "Mackie Button" which works like you describe ALTHOUGH there may be more elegant solutions....I have to check a thought I had today about the very same issue.

Re: Problem with Custom Button

Posted: 12 Mar 2013 01:15
by wurlt01
The mackie buttons should work fine. I'm using it in my mackie control template I'm using. I tweaked soft cores button in my template will post my work in progress. I say in progress I use it ASIs and have never finished doing every thing I wanted to do. But what I need I use everyday with ableton. Will post when I get to studio computer. It got some good stuff. I'm using to control scripts and both are working in live 8 and 9. I use mackie control for 2 way communication. And selected track controller for thing mackie control doesn't do like overdub. Scene launch next clip launch and such. I've got mackie control mapped to dameon 0 and selected track control to dameon 1.

Re: Problem with Custom Button

Posted: 12 Mar 2013 02:36
by wurlt01
here you go take a look. the other thing when you look around template bottom always has fader for top there are five pages track/arm etc these are the five white buttons on left of template above mixer just hit one to get back just press x. if you look at quantize page those i midi map to a max for live device. again the import thing to setup is dameon 0 you need to select for mackie control and for other stuff you need selected track control set to dameon 1 script and you only need midi in its not a two way script. http://stc.wiffbi.com/files/stc-1.2.8.zip heres link.

Re: Problem with Custom Button

Posted: 12 Mar 2013 16:33
by agentsmith23
thank you so far!!

is there the possibility in lemur (when it reads the script) to wait a half second before it will read the next line?

for example: i have 2 switches, on the first one i place a script like

if(Switch1.x==1)
Switch2.x=1;
then wait a half sec.
Switch2.x=0;

....

this will fix my problem at all


thx

Re: Problem with Custom Button

Posted: 12 Mar 2013 16:53
by Softcore
You could have a delayed action but that would require on frame scripts and generally speaking it would be a memory-hog to go that way for such a simple task.



This does what you want.... ;)
read the instructions on how to map it....
http://liine.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=2967

Re: Problem with Custom Button

Posted: 14 Mar 2013 08:51
by agentsmith23
ok this works fpr me, thank you. ;)

but one problem left...

i got for example two solo-pads, and if the first one is on, the second should be off by script.

like:

if(Solo1.x==1)
Solo2.x=0;


x doesn´t work in this case, do you know how to realize it?

thx

Re: Problem with Custom Button

Posted: 14 Mar 2013 11:38
by Softcore
Add this in Solo2 toggle() script

Code: Select all

if (light)
Solo1.light=0;
and this in Solo1 toggle() script

Code: Select all

if (light)
Solo2.light=0;
Now, when one of the Solo buttons is pressed, the other is turned off visually - notice, however, they wont send a "off" message this way - I suspect however this is done internally in your software (you have an "exclusive" solo mode enabled). If thats not the case, andf you want in fact an "exclusive solo" functionality built in Lemur (you want to have a Solo button disable all the others but also send the messages TO the controlled software) we need a different approach

Remember, the x still behaves like a pad, so thats why your if statement doesnt work - we want a full x toggle (0 to 1 to 0) to make the button "send" the message.



For many Solo buttons
add them in the "if" statement

for example in Solo1

Code: Select all

if (light)
{
Solo2.light=0;
Solo3.light=0;
Solo4.light=0;
}