My first post-project.
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 32
- Joined: 17 Feb 2013 19:23
Re: My first post-project.
Ok. I've thought a work around. I need help for that also
Is it possible to create a box like touch surface (a gesture) ,so when we swipe my finger inside it to the right, it will send ascending values 0-127 ,and when swiping left I'll get descending values (127-0) from that CC. If i continue to swipe to one direction it should start counting from beggining (eg i'm on value 13 and by swiping left I pass 0 and continue till value 125) don't know if it make sense. Imagine touching the waveform and scrolling through the track.
Is it possible to create a box like touch surface (a gesture) ,so when we swipe my finger inside it to the right, it will send ascending values 0-127 ,and when swiping left I'll get descending values (127-0) from that CC. If i continue to swipe to one direction it should start counting from beggining (eg i'm on value 13 and by swiping left I pass 0 and continue till value 125) don't know if it make sense. Imagine touching the waveform and scrolling through the track.
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 32
- Joined: 17 Feb 2013 19:23
Re: My first post-project.
Can my previous post be done? Also I got an answer from a guy in Traktor forums:
Traktor allow 2 different type of encoder... check in the preferences, MIDI mapping.
you can use 0x7h/0x01 type, which do not allow rotary sensitivity, one click/pulse of your encoder one action on the screen. The MIDI message is pretty straight forward.
- Status Byte: Control/Mode Change 0xB0 (for MIDI channel 1)
- Data Byte1: More than often a value 'round Portamento Control (0x54), but there's no real big deal with one.
- Data Byte2: 0x01 when you turn the encoder ClockWise, 0x7f for CounterClock Wise
Should you need the acceleration feature, only DataByte2 will change. But begin with it, it will be more than enough to start and probably exactly what you need.
I can't be more specific, it's plain Generic MIDI implementation, like pad and pot/faders.
I suggest you to have a look at
http://www.midi.org/techspecs/midimessages.php
For PC, you can use MIDI-OX to "emulate" a MIDI controller.
Traktor allow 2 different type of encoder... check in the preferences, MIDI mapping.
you can use 0x7h/0x01 type, which do not allow rotary sensitivity, one click/pulse of your encoder one action on the screen. The MIDI message is pretty straight forward.
- Status Byte: Control/Mode Change 0xB0 (for MIDI channel 1)
- Data Byte1: More than often a value 'round Portamento Control (0x54), but there's no real big deal with one.
- Data Byte2: 0x01 when you turn the encoder ClockWise, 0x7f for CounterClock Wise
Should you need the acceleration feature, only DataByte2 will change. But begin with it, it will be more than enough to start and probably exactly what you need.
I can't be more specific, it's plain Generic MIDI implementation, like pad and pot/faders.
I suggest you to have a look at
http://www.midi.org/techspecs/midimessages.php
For PC, you can use MIDI-OX to "emulate" a MIDI controller.
Re: My first post-project.
I'll have a close look at this subject tonight and see what we can come up with.
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 32
- Joined: 17 Feb 2013 19:23
Re: My first post-project.
Thanx boy! Your help so far is much appreciated )
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 32
- Joined: 17 Feb 2013 19:23
Re: My first post-project.
It seems that with touchOSC ,when I map an encoder to Traktor does EXACTLY what I want!!! What kind of messages does the encoder sends? Can we get them from a Lemur element?
Re: My first post-project.
You can use MidiOX to see what messages it sends....I really think if TouchOSC can do what you want, Lemur can too!
By the way, did you read the instructions on mapping the relative knob you found in the user library?
By the way, did you read the instructions on mapping the relative knob you found in the user library?
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 32
- Joined: 17 Feb 2013 19:23
Re: My first post-project.
Didn't read it all untill now... I will do some tests later cause I've got to go out now. I'll post updates asap! I'm just concerning about the acceleration thing on the encoder. Can we get the same comands in Lemur like the encoder in OSC sends? I'll try to look it my self too ,when I get back with that program you mentioned.
Re: My first post-project.
Hi
I am sure this topic has bealt run through a few times already . . .
This http://liine.net/en/community/user-library/view/350/ works . . . But Its an encoder with acceleration . . .
What exactly are you wanting to do? I had it doing Tempo Adjust and Pos Seek with a little setup?
The TO 'encoder' does not appear to do acceleration so you can go even more basic if that is all you want ?
The on TO Traktor template with a jog wheel I can find does not even do the jog right - it send 0-127 not 1-127??
I am sure this topic has bealt run through a few times already . . .
This http://liine.net/en/community/user-library/view/350/ works . . . But Its an encoder with acceleration . . .
What exactly are you wanting to do? I had it doing Tempo Adjust and Pos Seek with a little setup?
The TO 'encoder' does not appear to do acceleration so you can go even more basic if that is all you want ?
The on TO Traktor template with a jog wheel I can find does not even do the jog right - it send 0-127 not 1-127??
iMac 2.8G i7 12G 10.6.8/10.7.2, Legacy Dexter/Lemur, Liine Lemur/iPad2, KMI SoftStep, 12Step & QuNeo , B-Controls, Mackie C4 etc
MaxMSP, Live Suite, Native Instrument stuff, etc Modified Virtual Guitar System etc All Projects/Modules © CC-BY-NC-SA[*][/b]
MaxMSP, Live Suite, Native Instrument stuff, etc Modified Virtual Guitar System etc All Projects/Modules © CC-BY-NC-SA[*][/b]
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 32
- Joined: 17 Feb 2013 19:23
Re: My first post-project.
Hi Macciza and thank you too for your time! I want the most basic encoder (i suppose) without acceleration ,like what the OSC encoder sends ,without any acceleration. As I said , I'm out now ,so when I get back I'll try to test again the rotary found in the USER TEMPLATES section. I didn't read all the instruction ,so maby I was doing something wrong when trying tonmap it.Macciza wrote:Hi
I am sure this topic has bealt run through a few times already . . .
This http://liine.net/en/community/user-library/view/350/ works . . . But Its an encoder with acceleration . . .
What exactly are you wanting to do? I had it doing Tempo Adjust and Pos Seek with a little setup?
The TO 'encoder' does not appear to do acceleration so you can go even more basic if that is all you want ?
The on TO Traktor template with a jog wheel I can find does not even do the jog right - it send 0-127 not 1-127??
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 32
- Joined: 17 Feb 2013 19:23
Re: My first post-project.
It seems that I have downloaded (or used) another rotary... This one works ,but how can I disable the acceleration thing? I want a constant/standar midi send.