Page 2 of 3

Re: Scripting newbie

Posted: 12 Oct 2013 17:02
by ErikG
In way it is, but if it already had a return signal there would be no need to do anything that complex. Besides I don't think the remote can handle the amount of channels I have on medium to large size projects.

But yes. Like the mackie control Rude solo light :) great feature.
If I look at the lemur watching just one channel how could I otherwise know that solo was engaged elsewhere?
The Tango2 controller has it as well. As I said great feature.

Re: Scripting newbie

Posted: 12 Oct 2013 18:12
by Phil999
thank you, now I think I understand. I do believe the Generic Remote can handle this. I've never encountered a limit. It is a bit labour-intensive to enter 100+ entries (I guess this is what a large project would have as channel count), but this can also be done in a text editor, this is quicker. Of course it is more elegant to use a MCU or Tango protocol and just one rude solo message, but so far I haven't seen such a command for MCU. I'm not familiar enough with the Mackie Control or HUI protocol, and neither with Tango. I've just started to implement the AlphaTrack protocol into my WIP Cubase Lemur project, but I think there is no rude solo message. I will know more in a few weeks when I have access to the AlphaTrack hardware. If you know a good MIDI table for Mackie Control or HUI, or Tango, that would be good. What I know is the HUI map from theageman, and the following link for the MCU:

http://web.archive.org/web/200801260936 ... /MCMap.htm or http://home.comcast.net/~robbowers11/MCMap.htm

Let me know how much is your maximum channel count, and I try to find a solution. In my template I already have a Cubase-Lemur feedback for 32 channels, Lemur can indicate the channel number of the selected channel. The same can be done for rude solo and rude mute, and for as much channels as you need. And as I said, the functionality or speed doesn't suffer from large Generic Remote xml's.

Referring back to the thread title, it has not much to do with scripting. It is the DAW that must play ball. The Lemur side is then rather simple and sometimes doesn't even need scripts.

Re: Scripting newbie

Posted: 12 Oct 2013 20:07
by ErikG
Well my stuff really needs some scripting. The solo clear/rude button was just another example. The three state automation buttons do need some.

Re: Scripting newbie

Posted: 14 Oct 2013 15:37
by Phil999
well maybe, but this will be a line or two in a script, not much more. The difficult part lies elsewhere.

Just realised that the AlphaTrack does have a rude solo indicator. So for this particular problem there is a elegant solution. I don't know yet the note value for this indicator, but will soon know.

Re: Scripting newbie

Posted: 14 Oct 2013 17:05
by ErikG
I would love to use the alpha track, but I need a version that works with 64 bit. And as far as I can understand there isn't a 64 bit compatible driver for OSX (there is for windows).

And I agree it's not a lot of scripting. No where near the stuff I imagine done for the big ableton controller layouts. But for a newbie, even the simplest scripts can be hard to figure out.
And the hardest part IMHO really is simplifying.

Re: Scripting newbie

Posted: 14 Oct 2013 19:57
by Phil999
aww, yes, no 64-bit in Mac with AlphaTrack (and also TranzPort I believe). Too bad. Then you must go the Mackie route. Still, I don't know which MIDI note sends "all solo" or "rude solo" for the MCU, if such a command even exists.

What about Euphonix? Could this protocol be used maybe?

Re: Scripting newbie

Posted: 14 Oct 2013 20:52
by ErikG
I doubt it, eucon isn't using midi to do its thing. If someone would reverse engineer it so we could "hit" the API with eucon commands triggered by midi, then yes.

The "rude" solo light, while useful isn't such a huge issue really, I can live without it.
A good way to get the selected track name would be nice though, the rest I think I can deal with using generic remote and perhaps Mackie universal. Yes I know I can get names via mackie control, but it seems to be limited in many ways while the data it can show in other ares also seems overly simplistic.

Re: Scripting newbie

Posted: 17 Oct 2013 20:15
by Phil999
yes of course Eucon works through network, not MIDI.

What could work for you for is the FrontierDesign TranzPort. According to http://frontierdesign.com/Support/Downloads/TranzPort there is a Cubase x64 component for Mac. And here

http://www.frontierdesign.com/download/ ... ve_1_3.pdf

is a good document with all the commands.

Re: Scripting newbie

Posted: 17 Oct 2013 21:04
by ErikG
Brilliant Phil. That will take me some time to get working :-)
I'll try to finish my basic setup using only midi first, then I'll re-enter the various controller options.
Not enough time in a day, and sometimes I just get stuck when I realize that the original idea was flawed.

for example. What is a good way to actually get the value of controls in Cubendo? Is it even possible? Or is it just a fact of life that I have to find what settings produce the relative Lemur levels and then scale them to what I think it should be?
Frequency in Hertz(EQ and filters) and fader levels in db especially.
I'm sure I can find some examples somewhere in some user lib. finding one that makes any sense to me in my Cubendo world doesn't seem quite as easy.

BTW
I really appreciate the comments. it keeps me thinking straight at times.

Re: Scripting newbie

Posted: 18 Oct 2013 00:03
by Phil999
ErikG wrote: for example. What is a good way to actually get the value of controls in Cubendo? Is it even possible? Or is it just a fact of life that I have to find what settings produce the relative Lemur levels and then scale them to what I think it should be?
Frequency in Hertz(EQ and filters) and fader levels in db especially.
yes I think it is so. We have to set the appropriate scale of controls with markings (Text objects). Sometimes it works straight away with Monitor objects using simple math (setting min and max values).

Regarding TranzPort's display (timecode and track name), I am new to sysex and not yet up to the task. But I hope to get it right after some time. The AlphaTrack discussion is a good example how to do it.