Any chance the max size of templates gets increased?

Discuss Lemur and share techniques.
Joe Soap
Regular
Posts: 462
Joined: 07 Jul 2012 15:04

Re: Any chance the max size of templates gets increased?

Post by Joe Soap »

Lemur Loader.
wul
Regular
Posts: 181
Joined: 10 Apr 2012 13:25

Re: Any chance the max size of templates gets increased?

Post by wul »

If for example your template is to control multiple fx with say a max of 20 parameters each , you only need to create the objects once, just move the required data to a "working array" that the objects access as and when required, objects can be hidden , positioned, as required for the fx being controlled.
Or you could duplicate 20 objects , multiple times , in which case , an increase in the max size of a template is what you need.
Having said that the LPad wouldn't work using common scripts/ arrays, (probably due to the template relying on feedback from ableton rather than internal logic )everything had to be duplicated
electrofux
Regular
Posts: 294
Joined: 24 Jan 2012 18:22

Re: Any chance the max size of templates gets increased?

Post by electrofux »

The Problem with my template is that it works bidirectionally for every of the 20 tracks so i am not sure if i can get rid of the controls times 20 and just use 1 set of controls. I would have to memorize and constantly listen to the incoming paramters somewhere. I could place a couple of listener objects and then decode the Midi and distribute it back to the controls but uh this gets crazily tedious and abstract considering i am already doing somehting like this with 20 Reason Remote Codecs on the other side of the connection.

And also refactoring is a thing on its own. When you start doing templates for helping you to make music things look fine. Then templates get bigger, you put work into it and then you hit the wall and need to refactor and check if the time you need to put in is worth the time you save later. In my case, i think i am not doing this all over again as it took ages to do. I think i'd rather buy another ipad :?
dsorlien
Newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: 16 Jan 2012 04:28

Re: Any chance the max size of templates gets increased?

Post by dsorlien »

wul wrote:If for example your template is to control multiple fx with say a max of 20 parameters each , you only need to create the objects once, just move the required data to a "working array" that the objects access as and when required, objects can be hidden , positioned, as required for the fx being controlled.
Or you could duplicate 20 objects , multiple times , in which case , an increase in the max size of a template is what you need.
Having said that the LPad wouldn't work using common scripts/ arrays, (probably due to the template relying on feedback from ableton rather than internal logic )everything had to be duplicated
Good ideas. FWIW, I am already making use of this technique in my large template. I use muxed controls, and dynamically reassign the effect and parameter IDs. I use a common dialog box for multiple-choice parameters, and dynamically reconfigure it each time it is used.

I still need more Lemur memory.

Why is there an argument against this? This should be a no-brainer. More Lemur memory will alllow bigger and better templates. It's a win-win for Liine, template developers, and template users.
electrofux
Regular
Posts: 294
Joined: 24 Jan 2012 18:22

Re: Any chance the max size of templates gets increased?

Post by electrofux »

dsorlien wrote:
wul wrote:If for example your template is to control multiple fx with say a max of 20 parameters each , you only need to create the objects once, just move the required data to a "working array" that the objects access as and when required, objects can be hidden , positioned, as required for the fx being controlled.
Or you could duplicate 20 objects , multiple times , in which case , an increase in the max size of a template is what you need.
Having said that the LPad wouldn't work using common scripts/ arrays, (probably due to the template relying on feedback from ableton rather than internal logic )everything had to be duplicated
Good ideas. FWIW, I am already making use of this technique in my large template. I use muxed controls, and dynamically reassign the effect and parameter IDs. I use a common dialog box for multiple-choice parameters, and dynamically reconfigure it each time it is used.

I still need more Lemur memory.

Why is there an argument against this? This should be a no-brainer. More Lemur memory will alllow bigger and better templates. It's a win-win for Liine, template developers, and template users.
It seems that the Lemur Editor gets pretty sluggish when the memory is nearly filled up. Maybe there lays the limitations. I am currently fighting with the last 5% but i definitly cant sqeeze everything in.
Traxus
Regular
Posts: 211
Joined: 30 Nov 2012 06:19
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Re: Any chance the max size of templates gets increased?

Post by Traxus »

I was thinking/looking into this further and I have to agree, we could use another 50%-100% on the max size, whatever is feasible.

It dawned on me last night when I was trying to re factor some stuff that is duplicated across modules. I keep forgetting that we cannot store a reference to an object in a variable.

So I cant say:

Code: Select all

decl b = getobject();

GlobalFunctions.someFunction(b);
And have the function take effect on just that particular object. I thought that I was being lazy as far as abstraction but as it turns out I was really pushing the envelope about as far as it could go. Unless the ability to store AND pass references to objects is added I see the current max template size as being a nasty threshold for a lot of us to deal with...
jbgeluid
Regular
Posts: 60
Joined: 16 Jan 2012 14:03

Re: Any chance the max size of templates gets increased?

Post by jbgeluid »

+1 I'm at the max too....A serious case of bad programming no doubt, but I'm also using aliasses where possible (and/or needed), putting universal scripts on higher level, and so on. I would very much like to see the memory doubled at least if possible, to be able to merge a few big projects on one Ipad.
Cubase 11, Windows 10/
Intel I7 4930K @3.4Ghz/
multiple RME hammerfall cards
Controllers: Ipad2/16gb, Lemur, BCR2000
http://www.jbgeluid.nl
Softcore
Regular
Posts: 1613
Joined: 04 Nov 2012 08:34

Re: Any chance the max size of templates gets increased?

Post by Softcore »

Traxus wrote: It dawned on me last night when I was trying to re factor some stuff that is duplicated across modules. I keep forgetting that we cannot store a reference to an object in a variable.

So I cant say:

Code: Select all

decl b = getobject();

GlobalFunctions.someFunction(b);
This one would be great...
wul
Regular
Posts: 181
Joined: 10 Apr 2012 13:25

Re: Any chance the max size of templates gets increased?

Post by wul »

dsorlien wrote:
Why is there an argument against this? This should be a no-brainer. More Lemur memory will alllow bigger and better templates. It's a win-win for Liine, template developers, and template users.


no arguments here but it should be obvious to even those with no brain, that a lower than 16ms frame rate/speed takes the priority. i'll upload a little module (to the module section of course)that monitors frame speed
just watch it increase with every object added.
electrofux
Regular
Posts: 294
Joined: 24 Jan 2012 18:22

Re: Any chance the max size of templates gets increased?

Post by electrofux »

I just figured that in my case refactoring is hard to do. Most of the controls in my template work bidirectionally so theremust be something that listens all the time, writes the stuff into an array and delivers when the corresponding controls are shown, and thus also sending the parameters again (not wanted but cant be circumvented ithink) i am at a loss here how to implement that.
Post Reply