Page 2 of 2

Re: Variable values

Posted: 18 Feb 2012 01:54
by Macciza
Hi
You need to set the script execution to 'On Expression' 'x' 'any' -so it respond to any change of x varaiable (not manua)l . . .
Deselect the 'x'value for MUTE2 otherwise it sends 0/127 because of the midi mapping - we are using the x value in the script instead
Delete the old_val and this_x expression that you added there are not needed externally

In the script,
if (this_x) will result in 1 or 0 when pad is pressed and execute accordingly, it is the same as if (this_x == 1)
by using (this_x = 1) with only 1 = sign assigns 1 to this_x so it always results in 1 , follow . . . = is assign, == is comparison
I find the if(this_x) approach is best as it avoids the issue unless needed

It's always best to double-check before changing parameters to be sure . .
Use the listings in the bottom of the project pane showing internal functions - in others you will see ctlout parameters detailed .
The first arg is the target the final arg is the channel number 1 - 16 ( I accidently did 0 in the first script)
Because this is sending MIDI I use MidiMonitor to check that it is working, which it was

Leave the z value of the fader unassigned or disabled unless you are using it somewhere.

Do all those steps and it should work.
How was Dweezil ?
Cheers
MM

Re: Variable values

Posted: 18 Feb 2012 06:22
by Salt+Slug
Macciza,
Dweezle was freak-out awesome! Such a nice guy. Everyone in his band and on his crew, and the great people at Audio Integreated Research (A.I.R.) were so awesome to work with. I learned about a lot of new things yesterday and had a blast doin it.
As for code, I'm on my way upstairs right now to fix. If I catch a tour going down to your part of the world, I owe you a few good beers. Thank you for putting up with my ignorance, I did not know about = vs == and now I won't forget it.

Cheers
S+S

Re: Variable values

Posted: 18 Feb 2012 09:31
by kraftf
Sorry I misunderstanded what he was going for. Thought he need a toggle of the MasterVol current value.
Macciza wrote:Dude,
say high to the Dweez, from Down Under for me - saw him here a few years back . . .
Play a few Zappa tunes myself on the guitar, Chunga's Revenge a bit lately . . .

I dont think your version quite gets it Kraftf- sends th 127 from the x value and toggles rather than momentary's the mute values
I tidied up an approach more like I outlined earlier, had the channel arg wrong before I think-

Use this in the only script (I call it action()) executing on 'x' / 'any' change under the MUTE button - and disable the MUTE.x value . . .
delete the other unused vars and scripts - old_val does not need to be defined under MUTE, it's only used locally . .

decl this_x = x;
decl old_val= Master_OutputLevel.x; //save Fader value to variable
old_val= floor(old_val*127); // convert 0-1 to 0-127

if (this_x) // this checks if x=1
{   
ctlout(0,7,0,1); // Send midiout0 on cc7 val of 0 on channel 1 or however you want
}
else
{
ctlout(0,7,old_val,1);  // This sends the old volume val
}

This takes the direct approach of simply send the midi messages needed rather than telling the fader to do something that the sends the message
The main difference here is that of using scripting to send midi rather than any interface object which can be a better solution sometimes . .

Cheers
MM

Re: Variable values

Posted: 18 Feb 2012 17:11
by Salt+Slug
I'm still not getting it, and starting to get a little agitated, maybe just going to drop the function. I have a gig today so i wont get much more looked at today. Thank you both for your input

Re: Variable values

Posted: 18 Feb 2012 20:27
by Phil999
Salt+Slug wrote:I'm still not getting it, and starting to get a little agitated, maybe just going to drop the function. I have a gig today so i wont get much more looked at today. Thank you both for your input
I know that situation, but remember that you can only rely on established equipment on stage. Of course we want to include the latest tools (and Lemur is one hell of a tool!) in our setup, but it may take some time. For example, I recently wanted to setup my iPad in a new location. I had my templates, my netbook as network bridge, everything was there and working. Everything? No, I forgot the xml files for Cubase. But I still got my trusted hardware controllers there (AlphaTrack, BCF), so it wasn't a problem, just a minor lack of versatile control.

Anyway, I just wanted to say that we're in the same boat, or 'in the same hospital' like we use to say where I live. There are a couple of things I'd like to do with Lemur, and I know it's possible. Needs some time I think to get really familiar with new tools.

Re: Variable values

Posted: 18 Feb 2012 22:48
by Macciza
Hi
Sorry - maybe I should have just sent an edited version
cheers
MM

Re: Variable values

Posted: 19 Feb 2012 17:44
by Salt+Slug
I dont know what I did differently on the last go, but man you freakin nailed it! You are the BEST!
now, to try and figure out how to get the program changing custom buttons to function similarly. they are scaled 0-0,0-1,0-2,0-3, and so on till 99, what i need is when pressed it transmits the scaled number (0 through 99), but i also need it to first send a zero to reset the value received at the synth before sending the new PC value.... any ideas? Essentially I want the selection of one to turn off any other that might be selected, reset the value to 0 and the send new value.