precision

Discuss Lemur and share techniques.
Post Reply
nitefish
Regular
Posts: 56
Joined: 24 Aug 2012 07:43

precision

Post by nitefish »

Bonjour,
I'm trying to create a template for a SuperCollider synth and I've got a 'value' problem:
I've set the precision of one of my variables to 3 with the Lemur editor,and if I monitor this value in SuperCollider,I have a precision of 13 :D
(I just need '0.130' and I've got'0.1305643286953'...)
With the Lemur,is there a way to set the precision of the value wich is running over OSC?

In advance thank you.
Softcore
Regular
Posts: 1613
Joined: 04 Nov 2012 08:34

Re: precision

Post by Softcore »

The precision setting changes only the appearance of a value inside Lemur (in a label, or a monitor display). There are rounding functions bulit-in in Lemur but they all round to integers so these wont do either, you need to create a script for the rounding you need.

Off the top of my head:

create a new "out" variable

Then create a script:

Code: Select all

on Expression x
decl i;
i=1000*x;
out=(floor(i))/1000;
(obviously you need to map the "out" variable to your OSC target, instead of x)

Essentially what we do is multiply the x value with 1000 (for example for x=0.125463872 we get i=125.463872) then we take the floor integer (i=125) and we divide it again by 1000 to finally get out=0.125

Note: perhaps there's a better/faster/smarter way - Im not very experienced at this stuff but I believe it will work! ;)

;)
nitefish
Regular
Posts: 56
Joined: 24 Aug 2012 07:43

Re: precision

Post by nitefish »

Thanks for your reply.
I am not able to make your script to run but ,following your demonstration,I have set a variable:
out =(floor(x*1000))*0.001,but now I get values like this:

0.36000001430511
0.358000010252

I just got all those zeros at the same place on each value,but no precision of 3...
The 'floor' thing alone send the expected value and precision in SuperCollider,for info.
Macciza
Regular
Posts: 1315
Joined: 07 Dec 2011 04:57
Location: Sydney, Australia.

Re: precision

Post by Macciza »

Hi
Really need a bit more info -example code, script , project etc

What are you doing with it in SC, can't you just truncate/precision it there ?

MM
iMac 2.8G i7 12G 10.6.8/10.7.2, Legacy Dexter/Lemur, Liine Lemur/iPad2, KMI SoftStep, 12Step & QuNeo , B-Controls, Mackie C4 etc
MaxMSP, Live Suite, Native Instrument stuff, etc Modified Virtual Guitar System etc All Projects/Modules © CC-BY-NC-SA[*][/b]
Post Reply