Best way to do running lights

Discuss problems and solutions.
Post Reply
electrofux
Regular
Posts: 294
Joined: 24 Jan 2012 18:22

Best way to do running lights

Post by electrofux »

I want to implement a running light with either an Led object, or a pad object (1 row of 16).

Now, i get a Note On signal that delivers me the step to be light in a variable.

But just cant figure out how to lit unlit a single led i though i can do it like this:

setattribute(Leds[step],'value',1);

or

setattribute(Pads[step],'color',{1111111,2222222);

But it doesn't work. How can i lit/unlit single Leds/Pads in a row?
m127
Newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: 14 Dec 2011 07:57

Re: Best way to do running lights

Post by m127 »

I was wondering about the same thing.
It looks like pads' light/color attribute cannot be set individually within an array of pads, like:

Code: Select all

    setattibute(pads[5], 'light', -2);
Hope a mod/support rep chimes in to explain!
electrofux
Regular
Posts: 294
Joined: 24 Jan 2012 18:22

Re: Best way to do running lights

Post by electrofux »

The way i solved it was resending the whole array with the changed single value. But i assume this is not very efficient though i am not really sure about this. Maybe this is just how it is done.

There is also the "set(a,value,position)" function but i haven't had any luck with this too.
Macciza
Regular
Posts: 1315
Joined: 07 Dec 2011 04:57
Location: Sydney, Australia.

Re: Best way to do running lights

Post by Macciza »

Hi
Set the BarGraph option to off . . .
Then you can use Leds.value[n]= 1 to turn on individual bits
or Leds.value= n to toggle them all

Cheers
MM
iMac 2.8G i7 12G 10.6.8/10.7.2, Legacy Dexter/Lemur, Liine Lemur/iPad2, KMI SoftStep, 12Step & QuNeo , B-Controls, Mackie C4 etc
MaxMSP, Live Suite, Native Instrument stuff, etc Modified Virtual Guitar System etc All Projects/Modules © CC-BY-NC-SA[*][/b]
Post Reply