How to address the individual pads in a multipad

Discuss Lemur and share techniques.
Post Reply
mh175
Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: 06 Oct 2012 16:42

How to address the individual pads in a multipad

Post by mh175 »

Hello,
What is the script that allows me to address individual pads in a multipad? So if I click Pads[0] I get one result, if I click Pads[1] I get another?
Phil999
Regular
Posts: 919
Joined: 11 Jan 2012 01:53

Re: How to address the individual pads in a multipad

Post by Phil999 »

the Pads object outputs an array {x,x,x,x,...}, the first pad is Pads.x[0], the second Pads.x[1], etc.

You can use a Monitor object with 'Pads.x' in the value field to observe how it works.
Formant+Eurorack, PPG wave 2.2, Korg MS-20, etc., EWI 4000s, QuNeo, etc., Mixbus32c, u-he, MadronaLabs, Samplemodeling, NI, etc., iPad2/4/Pro
mh175
Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: 06 Oct 2012 16:42

Re: How to address the individual pads in a multipad

Post by mh175 »

Thank you!
mh175
Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: 06 Oct 2012 16:42

Re: How to address the individual pads in a multipad

Post by mh175 »

Oops, maybe I asked the wrong question.
How do I assign different output values to each pad in a multipad object?For example, I want Pads.x[0] to output program change 1, and Pads.x[1] program change 2.
Thanks
Phil999
Regular
Posts: 919
Joined: 11 Jan 2012 01:53

Re: How to address the individual pads in a multipad

Post by Phil999 »

you may want to set the Pads object to 'radio' so that only one prg ch command is sent. Then create a script in the Pads object:

Code: Select all

if Pads.x[0] (send program change 1);
if Pads.x[1] (send program change 2);
etc.

Use the correct command for program change, I don't know it out of my memory. See the manual and some example templates. Sorry.

This will probably give a long list. You can make it short with declaring a variable like i.

Code: Select all

decl (i==firstof(Pads.x));
if Pads.x[i] (send program change i+1);
You only need to know the program change command, and it's done.
Formant+Eurorack, PPG wave 2.2, Korg MS-20, etc., EWI 4000s, QuNeo, etc., Mixbus32c, u-he, MadronaLabs, Samplemodeling, NI, etc., iPad2/4/Pro
mh175
Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: 06 Oct 2012 16:42

Re: How to address the individual pads in a multipad

Post by mh175 »

Thanks that's perfect. Much appreciated.
Phil999
Regular
Posts: 919
Joined: 11 Jan 2012 01:53

Re: How to address the individual pads in a multipad

Post by Phil999 »

I'm glad you could make it, because at the moment (since a week, iOS 6) I can't connect to the editor anymore and am pretty much out of the game.
Formant+Eurorack, PPG wave 2.2, Korg MS-20, etc., EWI 4000s, QuNeo, etc., Mixbus32c, u-he, MadronaLabs, Samplemodeling, NI, etc., iPad2/4/Pro
Macciza
Regular
Posts: 1315
Joined: 07 Dec 2011 04:57
Location: Sydney, Australia.

Re: How to address the individual pads in a multipad

Post by Macciza »

Hi Phil
Have you tried setting up the adhoc with Static IP's on both devices? It should work then . .

Also, you can actually avoid the scripting completely if you want, by using Custom MIDI
Select your Switches then make a Custom MIDI mapping within it- called say PgmCh.
Choose Program Change for the Message type
Then enter an array of PgmChange values ie {1,2,3,4} for a 4 switch setup.
Choose x for the Trigger and 'Rising' edge for when the message is sent at the end of that line.All others to none.
Finally either deselect the x value or make sure that is not setup for anything.

Thats it, all done

Cheers
MM
iMac 2.8G i7 12G 10.6.8/10.7.2, Legacy Dexter/Lemur, Liine Lemur/iPad2, KMI SoftStep, 12Step & QuNeo , B-Controls, Mackie C4 etc
MaxMSP, Live Suite, Native Instrument stuff, etc Modified Virtual Guitar System etc All Projects/Modules © CC-BY-NC-SA[*][/b]
Phil999
Regular
Posts: 919
Joined: 11 Jan 2012 01:53

Re: How to address the individual pads in a multipad

Post by Phil999 »

good idea, thanks.
Macciza wrote: Have you tried setting up the adhoc with Static IP's on both devices? It should work then . .
I always had static addresses, but after updating to iOS 6, ad-hoc didn't work anymore. There was also no network symbol when I connected to the ad-hoc. With a Mac (a real one, which I don't have) it may work, but on my Windows laptops no more. Maybe it's the wireless card, maybe it's the OS, I don't know. It was fine under iOS 5.

But maybe we should discuss this here:

http://liine.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f= ... t=30#p7322
Formant+Eurorack, PPG wave 2.2, Korg MS-20, etc., EWI 4000s, QuNeo, etc., Mixbus32c, u-he, MadronaLabs, Samplemodeling, NI, etc., iPad2/4/Pro
nick_liine
Liine Staff
Posts: 285
Joined: 01 Oct 2010 11:06

Re: How to address the individual pads in a multipad

Post by nick_liine »

mh175 wrote:Hello,
What is the script that allows me to address individual pads in a multipad? So if I click Pads[0] I get one result, if I click Pads[1] I get another?
Is this what you mean — http://liine.net/en/community/user-library/view/152/
Post Reply