Need help with creating template

Discuss Lemur and share techniques.
Post Reply
iPad_User
Regular
Posts: 50
Joined: 09 Jan 2012 16:57

Need help with creating template

Post by iPad_User »

Hey,

so I started again to create my own template.
What I need is a template which I can use for live mixing. I need faders on 16ch and even on the 9/10 monitor outputs. With a script I found in the forum, I have now created the template I attached to this post.

There are is question coming up:
I want the text, which is down the faders, to change, when I press the 9-16 Button to Input 9, Input 10, etc. How to do that?

There will be more questions for sure in the furture. But let's start with that!


Thank you very much!
Chris
Attachments
new.jzml.zip
(7.15 KiB) Downloaded 82 times
analog604
Regular
Posts: 262
Joined: 29 Dec 2011 15:40
Location: north east, usa

Re: Need help with creating template

Post by analog604 »

So one way to do this is to put this code into your OnChange() function under the index button object 'sIndex':

decl e='content';

if(firstof(x)==1) {
setattribute(input1,e,'Input 9');
setattribute(input2,e,'Input 10');
setattribute(input3,e,'Input 11');
setattribute(input4,e,'Input 12');
setattribute(input5,e,'Input 13');
setattribute(input6,e,'Input 14');
setattribute(input7,e,'Input 15');
setattribute(input8,e,'Input 16');
} else {
setattribute(input1,e,'Input 1');
setattribute(input2,e,'Input 2');
setattribute(input3,e,'Input 3');
setattribute(input4,e,'Input 4');
setattribute(input5,e,'Input 5');
setattribute(input6,e,'Input 6');
setattribute(input7,e,'Input 7');
setattribute(input8,e,'Input 8');
}

cheers~
J
Dashboard gear control templates: User 112 Idx :: LModIt Lite :: SVG image converter for Lemur Canvas
axel_liine
Liine Staff
Posts: 126
Joined: 14 Dec 2011 12:12

Re: Need help with creating template

Post by axel_liine »

Or : use Monitor objects instead of Text objects to display track numbers.
Set the value for the first Monitor object to :

Code: Select all

firstof(sIndex.x) * 8 + 1
The second to :

Code: Select all

firstof(sIndex.x) * 8 + 2
The third to :

Code: Select all

firstof(sIndex.x) * 8 + 3
etc.
iPad_User
Regular
Posts: 50
Joined: 09 Jan 2012 16:57

Re: Need help with creating template

Post by iPad_User »

The monitorcode is cool.
But: How do I add the text "Input" in front of the resulting number?
axel_liine
Liine Staff
Posts: 126
Joined: 14 Dec 2011 12:12

Re: Need help with creating template

Post by axel_liine »

Unfortunately you can't do that with the Monitor object.
You'll have to use the Text object then, and manually type all possible strings as analog604 posted, since there's no function yet to build a string dynamically with varying values.
analog604
Regular
Posts: 262
Joined: 29 Dec 2011 15:40
Location: north east, usa

Re: Need help with creating template

Post by analog604 »

Here's what I've done, leave only the text "Input " under every fader and put a monitor object with same textsize and color next to it to update with your values as Axel suggests. :D
Monitor objects are cool!
iPad_User wrote:The monitorcode is cool.
But: How do I add the text "Input" in front of the resulting number?
Dashboard gear control templates: User 112 Idx :: LModIt Lite :: SVG image converter for Lemur Canvas
iPad_User
Regular
Posts: 50
Joined: 09 Jan 2012 16:57

Re: Need help with creating template

Post by iPad_User »

okay, thanks! :)

let's go on:
On the second tab, there are the auxilary outputs. I have nine of them at the moment, will be maybe 10 later. Now I'm thinking of two opportunitys:
a.) I can create a script in a script. So, that a script changes the "main view" from aux 1 to aux 2 for example and the second script switches between channels 1-8 and 9-16. But I think this is very complicated.
b.) maybe more easy is this solution: I will create two containers. The first one has the faders 1-8 and the second one 9-16 inside. I can create a script, that only one of them is shown.

What do you mean? Or any other ideas?
Macciza
Regular
Posts: 1315
Joined: 07 Dec 2011 04:57
Location: Sydney, Australia.

Re: Need help with creating template

Post by Macciza »

Hi

Depending on what you want to do/end up with many approaches are possible . . .
I would suggest downloading everything in the User library and old Lemur library and looking through them all.
One thing to keep in mind is that you have a virtual controller with many different option that can't physically exist really.
Thinking out side the usual paradigm can yield some really nice solutions that you might not have thought of -

A few ideas -
Split Panes like in Mu top and bottom to show aux at top, faders at bottom; either can be enlarged full screen.
Slide banks of faders sideways -always showing eight at a time, or show 16 but have half of them shrunk down. . .
Slide vertically between banks - or have each fader slideable up and down banks, so you could show faders for any bank or auxs etc
Then it is just the 'working out how to do it' and tweaking it it - deciding whether you want a custom or general purpose controller etc . ..

Just a few thoughts . .
Cheers
MM
iMac 2.8G i7 12G 10.6.8/10.7.2, Legacy Dexter/Lemur, Liine Lemur/iPad2, KMI SoftStep, 12Step & QuNeo , B-Controls, Mackie C4 etc
MaxMSP, Live Suite, Native Instrument stuff, etc Modified Virtual Guitar System etc All Projects/Modules © CC-BY-NC-SA[*][/b]
iPad_User
Regular
Posts: 50
Joined: 09 Jan 2012 16:57

Re: Need help with creating template

Post by iPad_User »

Hey,

thanks for your thoughts. There are all nice. But I think this one will fit my wishes the most:
Slide banks of faders sideways -always showing eight at a time, or show 16 but have half of them shrunk down. . .
How to realize that? I don't need to look through every template, because I don't need an absolut awesome idea. It's just a level control, you know? It should be simple but clever.

I really appreciate your help! Thanks again!
iPad_User
Regular
Posts: 50
Joined: 09 Jan 2012 16:57

Re: Need help with creating template

Post by iPad_User »

Hey,

here is another project!

I have a question.
I want some of the keys light up, when I press "zone 1", so I can see imediatly, on which keys the piano sound is on. How to do that?

Thanks! :)
Attachments
perf.jzml.zip
(2.75 KiB) Downloaded 73 times
Post Reply