about Multislider

Discuss Lemur and share techniques.
Post Reply
lqud
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 04 Jan 2013 10:32

about Multislider

Post by lqud »

Hello,

I wanted to ask, if it's possible to dynamically change the amount of sliders in the Multislider Object via OSC. I guess it's possible in some way.

Many thanks!
midikinetics
Regular
Posts: 50
Joined: 15 May 2015 17:46
Contact:

Re: about Multislider

Post by midikinetics »

You can set the number of sliders on a multi-slider in code using it's 'nbr' attribute

Code: Select all

// Sets to 3 sliders
setattribute(MultiSlider, 'nbr', 3);


Just create a script and set its execution mode to On-OSC, and when you get appropriate message, execute this script.

Check out this video if you are new to scripting

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lituZSj5jdQ&t=310s

Cheers
Phil999
Regular
Posts: 931
Joined: 11 Jan 2012 01:53

Re: about Multislider

Post by Phil999 »

these are good videos, midikinetics, thank you. This is something we didn't have in 2012, this luxury of well done video tutorials. We had to learn scripting from examples and from the forum. And of course from the manual. I think it was mainly written by Macciza.
Formant+Eurorack, PPG wave 2.2, Korg MS-20, etc., EWI 4000s, QuNeo, etc., Mixbus32c, u-he, MadronaLabs, Samplemodeling, NI, etc., iPad2/4/Pro
midikinetics
Regular
Posts: 50
Joined: 15 May 2015 17:46
Contact:

Re: about Multislider

Post by midikinetics »

Thank you! That means a lot. If there are 2 things I like it is coding and teaching. There will be many more videos. The PDF manual is still the best place to learn about Lemur. A massive rewrite of the manual to turn it into high quality online documentation is high on the priority list. The goal is to make it look like something like this:

https://developer.apple.com/documentation/swift/
lqud
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 04 Jan 2013 10:32

Re: about Multislider

Post by lqud »

Many thanks & sorry for the late reply ... but, I didn't got it to work and I'm not really sure, if that fit's what I want.
So, I need to send for example [/multislider 3] and the Multiplied has 3 steps and I want to send [/multislider 16] and it has 16 steps. So, the Stepnumber should be a variable.
I guess this should work also with the Pads Object the same way?
Phil999
Regular
Posts: 931
Joined: 11 Jan 2012 01:53

Re: about Multislider

Post by Phil999 »

yes I think it should work in the same way with Pads Objects. Although I have to get up to speed with Lemur to provide a clear answer. I think that midikinetic's reply is all you need.

To midikinetics: indeed you are a great teacher. And it is good to hear about your intention to work on the manual. So many good news.
Formant+Eurorack, PPG wave 2.2, Korg MS-20, etc., EWI 4000s, QuNeo, etc., Mixbus32c, u-he, MadronaLabs, Samplemodeling, NI, etc., iPad2/4/Pro
Post Reply