Multiball: How to "freeze" single balls?

Discuss problems and solutions.
Post Reply
shr3d
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: 30 Jun 2015 12:31

Multiball: How to "freeze" single balls?

Post by shr3d »

Hey guys!

I tried to figure out recently how to "freeze" single balls in a multiball environment. Say I have 6 balls, I have some widget to use single balls from these six balls, e.g. I select ball 1 and 4. Now, I'd like to "freeze" the other balls such that the user cannot interact with them meaning the unselected balls do not react to the touchpad/mouse input. Is this possible?

I know there is the "enable" attribute for each ball, but that will make the ball invisible and that's not what I want.

Any idea? Workarounds?

Thanks and cheers!
Dirk
Phil999
Regular
Posts: 919
Joined: 11 Jan 2012 01:53

Re: Multiball: How to "freeze" single balls?

Post by Phil999 »

I usually use the friction parameter to freeze Multiballs, but this affects the entire object. And it doesn't seem to be possible to affect single balls with scripting.

Therefore the only workaround that comes to my mind is to use 6 separate MultiBall objects, maybe in a container with 6 tabs. Like this you can control/freeze each ball.
Formant+Eurorack, PPG wave 2.2, Korg MS-20, etc., EWI 4000s, QuNeo, etc., Mixbus32c, u-he, MadronaLabs, Samplemodeling, NI, etc., iPad2/4/Pro
ndivuyo
Regular
Posts: 278
Joined: 23 May 2014 00:24

Re: Multiball: How to "freeze" single balls?

Post by ndivuyo »

I attached a kind of workaround for this just using 1 multiball object. It is a little sloppy no doubt, but depending on your project it could work. Maybe there is a way to make the solution a little better. But check it out.

The best thing to do would be to create your own multiball object with canvas and have total control (though you wouldnt have the physics system and different tracking methods, unless you have the knowledge to make that). If you are interested I made a canvas object called "ui" that already has a few scripts set up to track cursors and fingers, so a multiball replica wouldnt be too hard to make from it.
Here's the link to the "ui" object:
https://liine.net/en/community/user-library/view/598/


and below is my workaround

hope it helps
Attachments
frozen_balls.jzml
(8.2 KiB) Downloaded 230 times
Phil999
Regular
Posts: 919
Joined: 11 Jan 2012 01:53

Re: Multiball: How to "freeze" single balls?

Post by Phil999 »

ha, with canvas there are much more options, I forgot about that. Haven't tried your template out yet, but I know you have always a trump card in your sleeve. :)
Formant+Eurorack, PPG wave 2.2, Korg MS-20, etc., EWI 4000s, QuNeo, etc., Mixbus32c, u-he, MadronaLabs, Samplemodeling, NI, etc., iPad2/4/Pro
shr3d
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: 30 Jun 2015 12:31

Re: Multiball: How to "freeze" single balls?

Post by shr3d »

Wow, didn't expect so many answers in so little time! :)
I will check out the canvas option, that's a very good hint, ndivuyo!

Thanks a million! I will report my progress :)
ndivuyo
Regular
Posts: 278
Joined: 23 May 2014 00:24

Re: Multiball: How to "freeze" single balls?

Post by ndivuyo »

But yea, my attachment up above is a super sloppy solution lol. Maybe if we thought about it more there could be a better workaround with code in 1 multiball object, hmm... Otherwise, yea canvas, but if you don't have knowledge with scripting that could be a bumpier road.
Post Reply