Fader active only when touched/reset to zero aftertouch

Discuss problems and solutions.
Post Reply
Teej
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 17 Apr 2012 15:17

Fader active only when touched/reset to zero aftertouch

Post by Teej »

Hello,

So I would really like to make two types of Fader to control parameters in Ableton.

1. A fader that can send an on/off midi signal when being touched/or not touched. The desired functionality would be for this Fader to be set to control the a parameter of an effect in Ableton, but the effect is only on when the fader is being touched (effect turns off when finger is released). For this I have tried to place a pad over a fader, setting the pad as the on/off control and the fader as the effect modulation and it doesn't seem to work.

2. A fader that resets to 0 when finger is released. For example I would like to be able to control the A/B send and return signal up and when my finger is released the fader would fall back to 0.

These both seem very doable, but I just can't figure it out. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Teej
Macciza
Regular
Posts: 1315
Joined: 07 Dec 2011 04:57
Location: Sydney, Australia.

Re: Fader active only when touched/reset to zero aftertouch

Post by Macciza »

Hi

Have you had a bit of look through the manual? Tried any of the projects in there? It holds lots of answers . ..
Have a look in the Editor as well at what the Fader provides - x and z values, x is where in the range the Fader is, z is . .
Well at least have a guess or look it in the manual, or do as I described in another response recently and put a Monitor on the window and out Fader.z in and see what you get . . .
You can then set up the Midi mapping for it however you like for x and z separately to do what you want.
Also check out the 'behaviours' of a Fader - 'CapOnly' and 'Capture' give different responses that you should investigate . ..

Resettable Fader - try that as a Forum search (and Reset Fader), and you will get a bunch of options with various interesting features to check out . . .
But also think about it - once you've work out that earlier bit of whether it is being touched and what 'z' is all about you will be able to do it basically yourself as well . .

Cheers
iMac 2.8G i7 12G 10.6.8/10.7.2, Legacy Dexter/Lemur, Liine Lemur/iPad2, KMI SoftStep, 12Step & QuNeo , B-Controls, Mackie C4 etc
MaxMSP, Live Suite, Native Instrument stuff, etc Modified Virtual Guitar System etc All Projects/Modules © CC-BY-NC-SA[*][/b]
Softcore
Regular
Posts: 1613
Joined: 04 Nov 2012 08:34

Re: Fader active only when touched/reset to zero aftertouch

Post by Softcore »

1. Fader's "z" expression is what you want to map - this is 1 (on) when the object is touched, 0 (off) when it is not touched

2. Taking advantage of the "z" attribute, create a script inside your fader....
Set it to execute on expression z, when z drops to 0 (select the down arrow in the script settings)

Inside the script type:

x = 0;

You are done!

And of course, as Macciza notes, dont always expect to get ready made answers, especially for stuff that is clearly covered in the manual - read the manual first, ask questions after! ;)
Teej
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 17 Apr 2012 15:17

Re: Fader active only when touched/reset to zero aftertouch

Post by Teej »

I have looked in to this more.
Looking at other forum posts I see there are some solutions.
But my programming knowledge is minimal.

All I would like to do now, is have a fader reset to zero when it is not touched - with a switch to toggle this functionality on and off.

I have looked in to the templates posted in other forums using "def" in the script and attempted to use that switch to toggle def=0 and if off it changes to def=x to then just remain at the value the fader was last set but with no luck.

Any help in to how to do this would be appreciated. I have learnt a lot from looking in to it. But just don't have the detailed knowledge to achieve the desired result.

Thanks.
Macciza
Regular
Posts: 1315
Joined: 07 Dec 2011 04:57
Location: Sydney, Australia.

Re: Fader active only when touched/reset to zero aftertouch

Post by Macciza »

Hi
Heres one way of doing it . . .
resettable_fader.jzml
(4.62 KiB) Downloaded 79 times
Check out the logic and see if it makes sense to you . . .

Cheers
MM
iMac 2.8G i7 12G 10.6.8/10.7.2, Legacy Dexter/Lemur, Liine Lemur/iPad2, KMI SoftStep, 12Step & QuNeo , B-Controls, Mackie C4 etc
MaxMSP, Live Suite, Native Instrument stuff, etc Modified Virtual Guitar System etc All Projects/Modules © CC-BY-NC-SA[*][/b]
Post Reply