Switch ON/OFF Switches midi out

Discuss problems and solutions.
ecce_cello
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: 10 Jan 2014 11:48
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Switch ON/OFF Switches midi out

Post by ecce_cello »

hi! i wellcome myself to here.

i hope you can help me to sleep better today. i¡m very new to this, and just can't find a solution or anything in the forum.

i have a "Switches" object that sends CC in channel 1 target 1. as i don't have bidirectional midi from the looper app i am controlling (loopy), the switches don't show if the loops are playing or not. i want to be able to mute or switch on/off the midi out of this "Switches" object, so i can turn on/off the switches with my fingers (taking as a reference which tracks are currently playing), but DON'T send meanwhile these CC values, after my switches represent what's currently going on in loopy, i would turn them ON again. so i have the real reference when i get away from my looper (currently playing in another idevice).

i found a thread trying to do something similar, but turning a fader on/off. as you create an expression C, then you asign your midi to it, you can "mute it" with a switch using:

`if (Switches.x==1) c=x;`

the thread: http://forum.liine.net/viewtopic.php?f= ... ble#p10747

but i get erratic behaviors. also i can't get the CC 0 value, only the CC 127. and i need both!

please, help me to sleep better tonight.

thanks a lot in advance!

david
Attachments
Mute Switches midiout.jzml
(3.68 KiB) Downloaded 61 times
Softcore
Regular
Posts: 1613
Joined: 04 Nov 2012 08:34

Re: Switch ON/OFF Switches midi out

Post by Softcore »

Are you sure Loopy expects switches (toggles between 0 - 127) and not pads? (momentary 127 then 0)? I think thats whats causing the erratic behavior
Softcore
Regular
Posts: 1613
Joined: 04 Nov 2012 08:34

Re: Switch ON/OFF Switches midi out

Post by Softcore »

Try this
Attachments
Mute Switches custommidi.jzml
(3.62 KiB) Downloaded 83 times
ecce_cello
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: 10 Jan 2014 11:48
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Switch ON/OFF Switches midi out

Post by ecce_cello »

thanks @softcore! ...but it seems it's going to be a long night today too... it doesn't work. if i turn it OFF, i press whatever pads, when i turn it on again... it suddenly sends some of these pressed pads. and i need that when it's OFF it doesn't send anything at all. and of course, when pressing back ON, nothing should be sent neither.

loopy responds to many midi messages, i suggested this to michael, and you can map an action to a CC or NOTE ON, and another action to the CC or NOTE OFF. allowing you several different combinations with a single midi controller.

why is it sending midi when i press ON?

...please, i'm sleepy...

zzzzzzzzzz
Phil999
Regular
Posts: 919
Joined: 11 Jan 2012 01:53

Re: Switch ON/OFF Switches midi out

Post by Phil999 »

hm, I just made two mappings for Loopy yesterday, one for the Behringer FCB1010 MIDI foot controller, and one for a bluetooth computer keyboard. It was done in minutes. I suggest like Softcore to use pad objects. Both controllers I used are like Lemur pad objects. The MIDI message you're sending to Loopy is not so important, it can be notes or program change commands, Loopy will accept them all when you bind them to internal functions. It's really very easy to do, you've been thinking (and doubting) much too much.
Formant+Eurorack, PPG wave 2.2, Korg MS-20, etc., EWI 4000s, QuNeo, etc., Mixbus32c, u-he, MadronaLabs, Samplemodeling, NI, etc., iPad2/4/Pro
ecce_cello
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: 10 Jan 2014 11:48
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Switch ON/OFF Switches midi out

Post by ecce_cello »

please someone help me.

i just want to BLOCK or MUTE or FILTER or SWITCH OFF or CANCEL or AVOID... to be sent the midi messages of the pads when i press the pads IF a switch button made for that porpouse is set OFF.

if it's set ON. the pads would send midi normally.

ok. today i surrender. going to sleep... but i will have nightmares, for sure.

thanks in advance.
midimockup
Newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: 08 Nov 2012 15:55

Re: Switch ON/OFF Switches midi out

Post by midimockup »

Lemur manual pg.85: "return"

if(Switches.x==1)return;
ecce_cello
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: 10 Jan 2014 11:48
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Switch ON/OFF Switches midi out

Post by ecce_cello »

:)
i had zzzzzzzzzz
heard about the zzzzzzzzzzzz
"return" thing zzzzzz
but i didn't know how to
to
zzzzzzzzzzzzzz
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
ecce_cello
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: 10 Jan 2014 11:48
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Switch ON/OFF Switches midi out

Post by ecce_cello »

@midimockup thanks for the info. yesterday i had to sleep. but today i have been trying the "return" statement, read some manual. and it works neither. when i press "Switches" OFF, ok, it mutes all midi out, but when i press it ON, it sends some of the switches i had pressed meanwhile it was OFF!! in fact, if you press it many times, it sends each time that midi out!! like it's recalling it.

i really beck your help. i know nothing about scripting, i just want to make music, and this is a very simple switch on/off issue that has been driving me crazy for 3 days already.

if some one out there can guide me, i really need it. and i would appreciate your help a lot.

i attach the project,

thanks in advance.

david
Attachments
Mute Switches return.jzml
(2.76 KiB) Downloaded 63 times
midimockup
Newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: 08 Nov 2012 15:55

Re: Switch ON/OFF Switches midi out

Post by midimockup »

Mmmm..."return" doesn't work this way. It is used to stop a script or line from executing.


Here, I've simply blocked the switches from working by forcing x to equal 0.
Attachments
Mute Switches return.jzml
(2.77 KiB) Downloaded 74 times
Post Reply