Faders & Monitors

Discuss Lemur and share techniques.
Kaatza_Music
Newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: 10 Feb 2013 16:16

Faders & Monitors

Post by Kaatza_Music »

I am new to Lemur so bear with me if I ask obvious questions.

I created a template and I have a bank of faders, is there a way to link a monitor to a fader so it will display between 1 to 127 so I know the Midi Value I am sending with the fader? Or some other way to make the faders scalable from 1 to 127. I am using these faders to send CC data to Kontakt 5 and want a visual representation of the fader setting.
Leon Portelance, aka The Katz, B of Mus.
composer . songwriter . producer
Website - IMDb - Vinny's Last Ride
brianc
Regular
Posts: 87
Joined: 10 Jan 2012 02:16

Re: Faders & Monitors

Post by brianc »

For the Monitor's value, use Fader.x*127 or range(Fader.x,0,127)

If you have a MultiSlider, to get the CC associated with the third slider, you'd do Fader.x[2]*127
Kaatza_Music
Newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: 10 Feb 2013 16:16

Re: Faders & Monitors

Post by Kaatza_Music »

Took me a bit to figure it out, but once I did it worked like a charm. Thanks for the help!

One more question if I may. If a certain CC MIDI control function has a default setting of say 60, is it possible to set a fader so it stays on the default setting unless you move the fader up or down, but then once you remove your finger, it returns to the default? Kind of like the "Touch" function in automation in Logic Pro.
Leon Portelance, aka The Katz, B of Mus.
composer . songwriter . producer
Website - IMDb - Vinny's Last Ride
Phil999
Regular
Posts: 919
Joined: 11 Jan 2012 01:53

Re: Faders & Monitors

Post by Phil999 »

I did not try it, but using the z variable should do the trick.

First, create a script with floor(x*127)=60, executed 'On Load', to set the fader to its desired position. Then create a second script with floor(x*127)=60, executed when z goes to zero (arrow down).

No, you probably need to create an expression v=floor(x*127), and in the scripts v=60.
Formant+Eurorack, PPG wave 2.2, Korg MS-20, etc., EWI 4000s, QuNeo, etc., Mixbus32c, u-he, MadronaLabs, Samplemodeling, NI, etc., iPad2/4/Pro
brianc
Regular
Posts: 87
Joined: 10 Jan 2012 02:16

Re: Faders & Monitors

Post by brianc »

If you use a MultiSlider, an alternative would be to use the physics engine. Enable 'Physic', set height=0.6, friction=1, and tension=1, and the fader will snap to 0.6 quickly.
Phil999
Regular
Posts: 919
Joined: 11 Jan 2012 01:53

Re: Faders & Monitors

Post by Phil999 »

oh yes, how elegant. Didn't think of that one. I forgot to use the physical parameters with fixed values.
Formant+Eurorack, PPG wave 2.2, Korg MS-20, etc., EWI 4000s, QuNeo, etc., Mixbus32c, u-he, MadronaLabs, Samplemodeling, NI, etc., iPad2/4/Pro
Kaatza_Music
Newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: 10 Feb 2013 16:16

Re: Faders & Monitors

Post by Kaatza_Music »

Yes, the multi slider works perfectly for this. I tried the other method for a Fader and couldn't get it to work. Would still like to know how to do this with a Fader if it is possible. Being a newbie to this, I would need to know exactly how to enter the script or expression.

Appreciate the help!
Leon Portelance, aka The Katz, B of Mus.
composer . songwriter . producer
Website - IMDb - Vinny's Last Ride
Softcore
Regular
Posts: 1613
Joined: 04 Nov 2012 08:34

Re: Faders & Monitors

Post by Softcore »

Instead of calculatin floor here's my approach....I set up two monitors, one displaying CC values (x*127) and one displaying the actual x value...

This way Im able to know exactly which x value would return CC 60 value....

here it is
resettable_fader.jzml
(3.46 KiB) Downloaded 138 times
of course, you are then free to delete the monitors not needed - monitors can help a lot with scripting values, especially x - CC analogies, color codes and strings. ;)
Macciza
Regular
Posts: 1315
Joined: 07 Dec 2011 04:57
Location: Sydney, Australia.

Re: Faders & Monitors

Post by Macciza »

Hi
The other thing is to let Lemur do the calculating by inverting the formula . .
if CC = x * 127 then x = CC/127 . . .

This sort of thing is also good for things in grid mode to make similar selections . .
Also with the monitor approach I often will use the value option to show the calculated value
Cheers
MM
iMac 2.8G i7 12G 10.6.8/10.7.2, Legacy Dexter/Lemur, Liine Lemur/iPad2, KMI SoftStep, 12Step & QuNeo , B-Controls, Mackie C4 etc
MaxMSP, Live Suite, Native Instrument stuff, etc Modified Virtual Guitar System etc All Projects/Modules © CC-BY-NC-SA[*][/b]
Kaatza_Music
Newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: 10 Feb 2013 16:16

Re: Faders & Monitors

Post by Kaatza_Music »

@softcore.

Thanks. I got the Fader and monitors set up and they give me the x value and CC values as I move the fader, but I can't figure out how to get it to "snap back" to a preset value like CC=70. I can do it with multi sliders but my project will look a lot better if I can can do it with faders as I have a whole bank of faders but only need a few of them with default settings.
Leon Portelance, aka The Katz, B of Mus.
composer . songwriter . producer
Website - IMDb - Vinny's Last Ride
Post Reply